Remove this ad

Grimjac

Casual User

Lead

Nov 26 16 1:35 AM

Tags : :

I won't say I'm a long-time reader, first-time poster; at best I'm an occasional reader, first-time poster. I've been coming 'here' for a few years now, checking on various webcomics when and as opportunity arises. I don't always agree with the reviews; many times I do.

However, being bored over the long weekend, I spent a few hours reading through a bunch of reviews, and something struck me as...odd. This being BWW, I don't expect positive reviews; if the comic wasn't bad, it probably wouldn't be here. Some of my favorites certainly aren't; a few I used to follow rabidly are (LICD, Questionable Content, Sinfest, etc...for reasons I generally agree with in their review).

But it strikes me as odd that most reviews are horrific in their opinion on the art. No matter what style, no matter what story, the art is generally slammed. Granted, some of the webcomics here deserve it, looking like a spastic five-year old got hold of their crayons...if not bodily excretions...and made a masterpiece for Mommy.

It does seem like it's an unspoken rule for a review, though..."Oh, yeah, and the art sucks." I am far from an artist; I couldn't even draw XKCD, never mind LICD or GRRL POWER. However, I do know what I like, and I happen to like some of the art that's panned. I dropped Questionable Content for the SJW Dramafests, but the art fit the story...or found itself comfortable. Not sure of the correct terms, but JJ found a style that was consistent and `fit' the comic, and stuck with it. Is it photo-realistic? No. Is it life-like? No. Does it *have* to be? I don't believe so.

Critiquing art is such a fine line, since art is mostly subjective. 'Peanuts' kept the same art style over how many years? One might call it `iconic'; there was no need to change or `evolve' since it fit the story and was recognizable immediately as Peanuts. Same with many long-running old-style comics.